Bobcat Wrestling Banquet Held (04/15/16)

The Clarion Area Wrestling Boosters hosted the 2015-16 Wrestling Banquet, honoring the Varsity, Junior High and Elementary wrestlers and coaches, on Sunday, April 10th, at the American Legion.

Booster Club President Bill Bailey opened the festivities thanking various individuals, several in particular, Cindy Nellis, Tracy Rapp and Steve and Anita McMasters, who were instrumental in preparing for the banquet.

Bailey said the blessing, then everyone enjoyed the meal, provided by Daddy’s and parents.

After the meal, the other Booster Club officers werre introduced: Vice President, Ron Rapp (next season’s President); Treasurer, Steve McMaster (next season’s Vice President); Secretary, Jayme Dehner; and next season’s Treasurer, Cindy Nellis.

Bailey mentioned the fundraisers, put on by the Booster Club, including tournaments and encouraged others to get involved and then introduced the coaches, Elementary: Dave Reinsel, Braun Gourley, Kyle Kiss and Dave Smail, who also organizes the Elementary Program; Junior High: Lee Weber and Devon Everett; Varsity: Rob Sintobin, Dylan Reinsel and Ryley Gunter.

Dave Smail thanked the boosters and Coach Weber for helping to organize the elementary Junior Olympics program and the local tournaments. He then presented plaques to the State Qualifiers: Mason Gourley, Owen Reinsel (four-time qualifier) and Derek Smail (third-placed winner and two-time qualifier). He thanked, Mike Hindman, Lee Weber and Dylan Reinsel for their assistance.

Coach Weber, recognized and thanked Jayme Dehner for bracketing the tournaments, Ron Rapp for his stellar efforts at the tournaments and Bill Bailey for conducting the rules meetings.

He thanked the scorekeepers: Morgan Dehner, Hayley Sintobin and Alayna McMaster and then gave out awards. Award winners were: (Seventh Graders) Wyatt Stimmell – Rookie of the Year; Jeremiah Hartzell – Fearless Award; Ken Ross – Coachable Award; Cole Stutzman – Grit Award; (Eighth Graders) Ben Smith (Area 5 Champ and State qualifier) Scholar Athlete Award, 8th Grade Most Valuable Wrestler; Jordan Pezzuti – Toughness Award; (Ninth Grade) Riley Slagle – Most Potential Award; Ayden Wiles – Most Talent Award; Justin Goodman – 9th Grade Most Valuable Wrestler; Matt Coleman – Hustle Award; and Bowman Hartley – Ironman Award.

Coach Rob Sintobin began the Varsity portion of the program, mentioning the sacrifice and time commitment that wrestling involves and thanked the boosters and parents for their commitment. He encouraged parents to get involved . Sintobin expressed thanks to assistant coach, Dylan Reinsel, stating that much of the success of the wrestling program is due to Reinsel.

Of the commitment required of the wrestlers, Sintobin mentioned that, “Everyone, in their own way is a champion through their dedication and effort.”

Both coaches offered fine words for each of the wrestlers, as the letters, pins and individual awards were presented.

Receiving special awards and recognition were: Login Dehner and Tom Wurster – Rookie of the Year; Frankie Weber – Coaches Award; Mike LeFay – Most Improved and Regional Qualifier; Colton Rapp – Regional Qualifier;

Alex Struble – Leadership Award; Caleb Bailey – Academic Award; Prince Brooks – “Dave Weible” Leadership Award; and Zach Sintobin – Outstanding Wrestler, Regional and State Qualifier, Third-Place at States.

The seniors, Alex Struble, Adrian Weber, Caleb Bailey, Leo Aiello, Prince Brooks, Austin Holz, Alexander Burkhart, and Zach Sintobin were given special parting gifts. Special mention was made of Burkhart who will be leaving soon to serve Our Country, in the U.S. Army. (We’re all proud of you Alex!!!!)

Coach Sintobin presented son Zach with a jacket recognizing his many accomplishments.

Bill Bailey presented outgoing, Coach Sintobin with a plaque for his many years of dedicated service to the Wrestling Program.

(Fantastic job, wrestlers, coaches and boosters!!!!)