A Number Of Bobcat Players And Coaches To Particpate In Second Annual Frank Vareschetti All-Star Football Game (06/09/17)

The second annual Frank Varischetti All-Star Football Game will be held on Friday, June 30th at Frank Varischetti Field in Brockway.

(Photo submitted by Staub family) Clarion Bobcat Will Staub, bearing the “Stars and Stripes,” leads the 2016 KSAC All-Stars onto the field

The game, which features recently graduated athletes, pits the Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference (KSAC) against the Allegheny Mountain League (AML). The Clarion Area Bobcats will be well represented, with wide receiver and cornerback Ty Burford, guard and middle linebacker Jay Remmick and Kyle Patterson putting on the distinctive Clarion “C”/ “Bobcat Paw” helmets one last time.

(This will be Ty’s second all-star game action, as he will also play in the Lezzer Lumber Classic the previous Friday, June 23rd. See a separate article on Ty and the Lezzer Lumber game posted earlier.)

Leading the KSAC offense will be Bobcat head coach Larry Wiser, who passed the 200 win milestone this past season, along with assistant coaches Nate McClaine, Scott Miller. (The Bobcat Football Program, which began in 1927, is just two wins away from the coveted 500 win plateau). Karns City head coach Ed Conto and members of his staff will handle the defense. Coach Wiser (205 wins) and Coach Conto (196 wins), the two winningest coaches in Little 7-12/KSAC history, have a combined 401 victories.

Kickoff is scheduled for 7:00PM. Tickets are $5.00 for adults and $2.00 for children. We encourage the entire community to turn out for this fine all-star game, in support of our Clarion Area athletes, who will be reppresenting the Orange and Black for the last time, and their coaches.

Following is the official press release from the Varischetti game, which includes complete player rosters:

BROCKWAY – Nine seniors who received All-State football honors are among the 64 players who will take the field June 30 in the second annual Frank Varischetti All-Star game at Frank Varischetti Field in Brockway.

Kane Wolves head coach Todd Silfies will lead the Allegheny Mountain League squad and Clarion Bobcasts head coach Larry Wiser will captain the Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference team. The AML prevailed, 27-20, in the 2016 game.

Graduated seniors from the Class of 2016-17 will participate. They were nominated and selected by the coaches of the respective leagues. The AML consists of Bradford, Brockway, Curwensville, Elk County Catholic, Kane, Ridgway, Cameron County, Coudersport, Otto-Eldred, Port Allegany, Sheffield and Smethport. The KSAC is made up of Brookville, Clarion, Karns City, Moniteau, Punxsutawney, St. Marys, Clarion-Limestone, Keystone, Redbank Valley and Union/AC Valley.

The all-state selections are Jarrett Esposito of Brockway, Keaton Rounsville and Davis Gardner of Kane, Justin Kasmierski of Ridgway, Elijah Jacobs of Curwensville, Sam Leadbetter and Mike Macefe of Clarion-Limestone, Carter Dunmyre of Karns City and Dana Logue IV of Union/AC Valley.

The AML team includes … Alex Daughenbaugh and Mitch  Vleminckx of Bradford; Jarrett Esposito, Quade Lundberg, Andrew Trunzo, Hunter Miller, Jake Gorham, Brian Elias and Hunter Antonuccio of Brockway; Derek Rieder and Tristan Reed of Cameron County; Aaron Wolfinger of Coudersport; Elijah Jacobs, Zach Marshall, Tanner Lezzer and Dylan Warrick of Curwensville; Joe Kucenski, Doug Schatz and Jared Braun of Elk County Catholic; Keaton Rounsville, Davis Gardner, Issac Walters, Frank Truden and Austin Labesky of Kane; Grant West, Seth Drummond and Nate Shroyer of Otto-Eldred; Justin Kasmierski, Colton McClain, Josh Raubenstrauch, Ryan Kilhoffer and Jacob Anderson of Ridgway; and Akete Kindle of Smethport.

The KSAC team includes … Seth Ray, Seth Snyder and Michael Fraccola of Brookville; Ty Burford, Jay Remmick and Kyle Patterson of Clarion; Mike Macefe and Sam Leadbetter of Clarion-Limestone; Cullen Williams, Kaiden Powers, Dalton Jones, Carter Dunmyre, Eric Dodd, Jesse Allen and Aaron Hutchison of Karns City; Dalton Anderson, Dillin Anderson and Tyler Kerr of Moniteau; Jared Kespelher, Pat Crawford, Scott Toth, Colten Mohney and Seth Downs of Redbank Valley; Matt Marconi, Nick Williams and Parker Smith of St. Marys and Dana Logue IV, Kody Wolfe, Brad Armagost, Leroy Cratty and Quintin Crissman of Union/A-C Valley.

The Frank Varischetti Foundation, with support from the Brockway Gridiron Association and the Brockway Area School District, is hosting the event. In addition to showcasing the best football talent in District 9, the game will award $1,000 scholarships to 10 players.

The game coincides with Brockway’s annual Old Fashioned Fourth of July Celebration. Kickoff time is 7 p.m. Friday, June 30. Tickets are $5 for adults and $2 for children.