Brendan Zerfoss To Continue Academic And Track Career At Slippery Rock University (08/22/18)

Clarion Area Track Star Brendan Zerfoss is continuing his academic and athletic career at Slippery Rock University.

(Photos by Rich Rhoades/Jeffersonian Democrat) Brendan proudly displaying his 2018 PIAA 5th place medal in the 400 meter dash

Brendan placed fifth in both the 200 and 400 meters at the PIAA State Meet, this past May. He was the District Nine Class AA Champion in both those events and finished second in the 100, for which he earned the Boys James Manners Track MVP Award.

Along with Brookville’s Ian Thrush, Brendan was named 2018 Male Track Co-Track Athlete of the Year on the Tri-County Sunday/Courier Express Track and Field All-Star Team.

He was named the 2018 Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference (KSAC) Boys Track MVP and was named to the first team in the 100, 200 and 400, and teamed with Don Cunningham, Austin Hummell and Marshall Powers for First Team honors in the 1600 relay.

The Slippery Rock track team competes in a winter season, so he will begin workouts soon. Brendan expects to run the 400 and maybe the 200, as well.

(Photo by Rich Rhoades/Jeffersonian Democrat) Brendan Zerfoss rounds the curve during Friday’s 200-meter dash preliminary race.

Brendan chose Slippery Rock for both academic and athletic reasons. He feels that they have a great track and field program and his honored to be a part of it.

He is undecided on his major.

Some of Brendan’s memorable meets were the Butler Invitational with his teammates, the Redbank Valley Invitational his senior year, the District Nine Meets his junior and senior years, especially his senior year when he was named Track MVP. And last but not least, States his senior year, as he brought home two medals for the Bobcats.

Brendan mentioned that he “would like to thank all his teammates he had the pleasure of running and sharing the field with.  Also, all the parents and fans that supported him during his track years. As for the coaches, a special thanks to Dan Alderton, Nate McClaine, B. J. Roth and Ben Bevevino.”

(Thanks to Rich Rhoades from the Jeffersonian Democrat for the photos. Congratulations to Brendan!!!! All the Best at Slippery Rock!!!!)