https://secureservercdn.net/45.40.148.147/p4y.b63.myftpupload.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/08/Bobcat-Football-2019-Team-1050x700.jpg

Clarion Area Bobcat Football Preview And Schedule (08/13/19)

(Above photo courtesy of Smith Photography) 2019 Clarion Bobcats Football Team

The Clarion Area Bobcats are set to open 2019  with a major change to the program, as Clarion-Limestone is joining the co-op with Clarion Area and North Clarion.

The Bobcats had a 6-5 record last season, while the Lions were 9-3 in 2018. Coach Larry Wiser will be entering his thirty-second season as the Bobcats’ mentor. Coach Dave Eggleton, who was the Lions’ head coach for the past six seasons will serve as assistant head coach and offensive coordinator.

Camron Kirkland will be the assistant offensive coordinator and wide receivers coach. Doug Knepp will handle the offensive and defensive lines. Dave Louder will coach the defensive backs and receivers. Lee Weber will be the assistant defensive coordinator and special teams coordinator.

(Photo courtesy of Smith Photography) 2019 Bobcat Coaching Staff – Front (L-R) Kevin “Fonzie” Slike, Camron Kirkland, Head Coach Larry Wiser, Dave Eggleton. Back (L-R) Dave Louder, Doug Knepp, Lee Weber.

Both Clarion and Clarion-Limestone have lost some key players. The Bobcats lost Archer Mills, Sam Minich, Logan Minich, Camden Boggess, Nick Porciello and Bowman Hartley.

Those players received mention on All-Conference teams and college recruiting.

Coach Wiser said he will miss all of the Bobcat graduated seniors,though, which also includes: Andrew Guth, Tanner Oberlander, Curtis Shipley, Tyler Wolbert-McCord, and Drew Whren

Key players who graduated from Clarion–Limestone are Ayden Wiles, Justin Goodman, Matt Coleman, Jimmy Gunning, Drew Beichner, Colby Himes, David Wiles, Ian Callen, Trenton Keighley

Coach Wiser said his goal for the team is the same as it is every year, “play one game at a time.”

He wants the team to “(be) prepared, not looking ahead,” to have a “positive TEAM chemistry and treat the season as journey,” He says these “are all ingredients that will make this season memorable.”

With the three schools combined, there are many returning starters. On the offensive side, these starters return: linemen Gabe Coull, Luca Cherico, Ben Smith, Mitch Knepp, Tyler Schmader; running backs: Austin Newcomb, Kyle Bottaro, Cutter Boggess; and receivers: Ethan Burford, Colton Zacherl, Tim Burchwell.

Returners on defense include: linemen Tyler Schmader, Hunter Craddock; linebackers Mitch Knepp, Ben Smith, Kyle Bottaro; and defensive backs Jason Ganoe, Cutter Boggess, Austin Newcomb, Colton Zocherl, Tim Burchwell

As for who Coach Wiser sees as his key players, he said, “Football is a team sport and we will see who emerges throughout the season.”

2019 Clarion Area Bobcats Varsity Football Schedule

Saturday, August 17 – Marion Center  (Scrimmage) – Away – 10:00 AM

Friday, August 23 – Punxsutawney* – Away – 7:00 PM

Friday, August 30 – Moniteau* – Home – 7:00PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS)

Friday, September 6 – Karns City* – Home – 7:00PM (At Memorial Stadium)

Friday, September 13 – Brookville* – Away – 7:00PM

Friday, September 20 – Saint Marys * – Home – 7:00PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS) – Clarion-Limestone Homecoming

Friday, September 27 – Kane* – Away – 7:00PM

Friday, October 4 – Ridgway – Away – 7:00PM

Friday, October 11 – Bradford* – Home – 7:00PM (At Memorial Stadium) – Clarion Area Homecoming

Friday, October 18 – Brockway* – Away – 7:30PM

Friday, October 25 – James Buchanan – Home – 7:00PM (At Memorial Stadium) – Senior Night

(*= District Nine League, Large School Division Game)

2019 Clarion Area Bobcats Junior Varsity Football Schedule

Monday, August 26 – Punxsutawney – Away – 6:00PM

Monday, September 9 – Karns City – Away – 6:30PM

Monday, September 16 – Brookville – Home 6:30PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS)

Monday, September 23 – Ridgway – Away – 6:00PM

Monday, September 30 – DuBois – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion Area HS)

Monday, October 7 – Moniteau – Away – 6:00PM

Monday, October 14 – Redbank Valley – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS)

Monday, October 21, Karns City – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion Area HS)

2019 Clarion Area Bobcats Junior High Football Schedule

7th and 8th Grade

Thursday, August 22 – Oil City (Scrimmage) – Away – 4:00PM

Wednesday, September 4 – Punxsutawney – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS)

Thursday, September 12 – Brookville – Home – 5:00PM (At Clarion Area HS)

Tuesday, October 1 – Curwensville – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS)

Thursday, October 10 – Redbank Valley – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion Area HS)

Thursday, October 17 – Karns City – Away – 5:00PM

Wednesday, October 23 – Greenville – Away 5:00PM

KSAC League

7th, 8th and 9th Grade

Saturday, August 24 – Moniteau (Scrimmage) – Home – Noon (At North Clarion HS)

Wednesday, September 18 – Keystone – Away – 5:00PM

Thursday, October 3 – Moniteau – Away – 6:00PM

Thursday, October 24 – Union – Away – 6:00PM

9th Grade

Thursday, September 5 – DuBois – Away – 6:00PM

Thursday, September 12 – Brookville – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion Area HS)

Thursday, September 26 – DuBois – Home – 6:30PM (At Clarion-Limestone HS)

Thursday, October 17 – Karns City – Away – 6:30PM