Korrin Burns Named 2021 District 9 Volleyball MVP, Coach Campbell Named Coach Of The Year, Noel Anthony, Jordan Best, Aryana Girvan; C-L’s Kendall Dunn Also On All-District Team

(Images by Nate Girvan: Above- Korrin Burns going after a kill) has announced their 2021 District Nine All-District Volleyball Team on Thursday, December 2nd and the PIAA Class-1A Champion Clarion Area Bobcats are well represented.

Korrin Burns was named the Player of the Year and Coach Shari Campbell was selected Coach of the Year. Joining them on this year’s team are Noel Anthony, Jordan Best and Aryana Girvan.

Korrin, a senior, who was also named to the First Team as a Hitter, finished the season with 581 kills, 220 digs and 196 points (54 aces). For her career, Korrin registered 1630 kills, 709 digs and 668 points (207 aces). This is Korrin’s second year in a row to be named Player of the Year, sharing the honor with Bobcat teammates Brenna Campbell and Erica Selfridge in 2020.

This is Coach Campbell’s second consecutive Coach of the Year honor as well. In addition to the State title, their second in a row, Coach Campbell led the Bobcats to their fourth straight District Nine Class-A and Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference (KSAC) titles.

(Coach Campbell (second row – left) with her 2021 PIAA Class 1A State Champion Bobcats)

Noel, a senior, was named to the First Team as a Setter. She recorded 914 assists, 164 digs, 35 kills and 245 points (52) aces) in 2021. For her career, Noel had 937 assists, 37 kills, 191 digs and 263 points (58 aces).

(Noel Anthony setting a teammate)

Jordan, a senior, was named the First Team Libero. She amassed 197 digs, 170 points (36 aces) and 32 assists this past season. For her career, Jordan totaled 455 digs, 635 points (119 aces) and 55 assists.

(Jordan Best serving)

Junior Aryana Girvan was named to the Second Team as a Hitter. She provided the Bobcats with 207 kills, 81 points (11 aces) and 14 blocks in 2021. In her career so far, Aryana has delivered 448 kills, 193 points (43 aces) and 73 blocks.

(Aryana flying high)

Two other local players were named to this year’s squad. Clarion-Limestone’s Kendall Dunn and Keystone’s Leah Exley were both named to the Second Team. Kendall was named as a Setter and Leah was named as a Hitter.

Joining Korrin and Coach Campbell, as Top Award Winners, was Brockway’s Kalina Powell who was named Rookie of the Year.

Congratulations to Coach Campbell, Korrin, Noel, Jordan, Aryana, Kendall, Leah, Kalina and all of the 2021 District 9 Volleyball All-District honorees!!!!

(Thanks to Nate Girvan for his images!) District 9 All-District 9 Volleyball Team (The Team is sponsored by All American Awards & Engraving):

Player of the Year: Korrin Burns – Clarion; Coach of the Year: Shari Campbell – Clarion; Rookie of the Year: Kalina Powell – Brockway

First TeamHitter: Korrin Burns – Clarion First TeamHitter: Korrin Burns – Clarion; Setter: Noel Anthony – Clarion; Libero: Jordan Best – Clarion; Hitter: Bella Gregory – DuBois; Hitter: Tori Newton – Elk County Catholic; Hitter: Jayden Brabham- Oswayo Valley.                                                                                                   

Second TeamHitter: Aryana Girvan – Clarion; Setter: Kendall Dunn – Clarion-Limestone; Hitter: Leah Exley – Keystone; Setter: Moira Stanisch – Elk County Catholic; Hitter: Avaree Kellert – Oswayo Valley; Hitter: Emma Delp – DuBois; Libero: Gabby Gulvas -DuBois.                                                                                               

Link to’s article:

Clarion’s Burns Named District 9 Volleyball MVP; All-District Team Named –