Bobcats Score Big In D9sports.Com/Eric Shick Agency Post Season Football Awards (12/17/17) announced their 2017 Eric Shick Agency Post Season Football Awards and All-District Nine Team this past Thursday (December 14th) and the District Nine Class AA Champion Clarion Area Bobcats were well represented. The Bobcats garnered the MVP Award, Defensive Player of the Year Award, Co-Coach of the Year Award, and were also named in the Game of the Year Award. The Cats also accounted for five slots on the All-District Nine Team.

(Photo by Bri Nellis – Bri Nellis Photography) Spencer Miller running the ball against Kane

Spencer Miller, a senior quarterback, defensive back and punter was named the Jim Kelly Award (District 9 MVP) winner. Spencer threw for 1030 yards, going 75 of 131, with 9 touchdowns and six interceptions. He also ran for 557 yards on 62 carries, with 10 touchdowns.

Spencer was stellar on defense and special teams also, with a sack, 5 interceptions, 13 passes defended, 133 tackles, one tackle for loss, 23 punts (42.1 yards per punt), 10 inside the 2o yard line.

Spencer was named to the All-District Nine Football Team at defensive back and punter.

Bobcat linemen and coaches.  Thomas Wurster (front left) and Zak Bauer (front, third from left)

Zak Bauer, a senior linebacker was named Defensive Player of the Year. Zak, who was named KSAC Large School Division Defensive Player of the Year, had 133 tackles, 41 of them for loss, with 8 sacks and two interceptions. Zak was named to the All-District Nine Football Team at linebacker and as an offensive lineman.

Bobcat mentor Larry Wiser was named Co-Coach of the Year along with Brookville coach Scott Park. Coach Wiser led the Cats to a 12-1 record and the District Nine Class-AA Championship. The Bobcats won their first round PIAA First Round game, advanced to the State Quarterfinals and finished the season ranked 8th in the state in Class-AA.

The Bobcats District Nine Class-AA Championship Game, a 28-21 victory was named Game of the Year.

Bobcat tight end Thomas Wurster was named to the All-District Nine Team. Thomas had 4 catches for 132 yards (32 yards per catch) and a touchdown. He was also an integral part of the Cats running game. In the Clarion offensive scheme the tight end is more of an offensive lineman as receiver.

Others receiving individual awards were:

Offensive Player of the Year

Bryan Dworek – junior wide receiver,  Brookville

Offensive Lineman of the Year

Anthony Smith-  senior guard, Kane

Special Teams Player of the Year

Clint Thurston – senior kicker and punter, Redbank Valley

Rookie of the Year, Individual Performance of the Year

Jack Krug – freshman quarterback, Brookville

Special Contributor

Bob Tonkin: Tonkin – longtime coach, official and D9 Committee member



QB – Jack Krug, Brookville

RB – Nick Stewart, Curwensville

RB – Erik DeLong, Kane

RB – John Eakin, Bradford

WR – Bryan Dworek, Brookville

WR – Kyle Kerle, Clarion-Limestone

TE – Thomas Wurster, Clarion

OL – Anthony Smith, Kane

OL – Steve McClure, Curwensville

OL – Zak Bauer, Clarion

OL – Isaac Gralak, Bradford

OL – Logan Minich, Redbank Valley


DL – John Frank, Brookville

DL – Max Cowan, Ridgway

DL – Aiden Hulings, Kane

DL – Steve McClure, Curwensville

LB – Zak Bauer, Clarion

LB – Evan Furlong, Ridgway

LB – John Eakin, Bradford

DB – Spencer Miller, Clarion

DB – Josh Terry, Curwensville

DB – Neil MacDonald, Ridgway

DB – Brock Barrett, Redbank Valley

Special Teams

Place Kicker: Clint Thurston, Redbank Valley

Punter: Spencer Miller, Clarion

Congratulations to Spencer, Zak, Thomas, Coach Wiser and the whole Bobcat Squad, as well as all the rest of this season’s other selectees, on their honors.

(Special thanks to D9sports. com for this information. Go to their site to see their complete story on this year’s awards.)