Clarion Little League Announces Baseball All-Star Teams (12/20/2018)

(Compiled and Written by CSZ Sports Writer Kenn Staub)  In 2017 Clarion Little League (CLL) had one of the more successful postseasons in its history, as each of the three baseball all-star teams it fielded (10u, 11u, 12u) won District 25 championships.

The winningest of the three squads was the 11u team. Managed by Bill Smith, who returns at the helm of the 12u team this season, the boys in CLL’s traditional red, white, and blue swept through the Section 1 playoffs and advanced to the state championship tournament. At States, the team went 2-2, placing fourth, duplicating CLL’s previous highest postseason finish (accomplished by the 10u team in 2012).

Both the 10u and 12u teams advanced to the Section 1 tournament, with the younger squad going 1-2 and the older group 0-2.

CLL announced its 2018 All-Star teams on June 8. Unlike last season, it will only be fielding two teams this postseason, a 12u squad and a 10u unit. Rosters and District 25 playoff information can be found below.

The 12u team will be one of six teams vying for the District 25 title. Also fielding squads will be Oil City, Franklin, Cranberry, Titusville, and KRE (a team comprised of players representing Knox, Rimersburg, and Emlenton). Clarion will host Cranberry in a first round game at Paul A. Weaver Park on Monday, June 25. Game time is scheduled for 7:00.




Rookie All-Star manger Luke Huwar will guide the 10u squad in the postseason. Joining Clarion in the District 25 10u bracket will be teams representing Titusville, Butler, and Oil City. Clarion is scheduled to open district play against Oil City on Thursday, July 5 at Paul A. Weaver Park. The game has a 7:00 start time.




For complete District 25 brackets and to follow both teams as they progress through the entire postseason please “Like” the Clarion Little League All-Stars Facebook page (

(pictures of the rosters from the Clarion Little League All-Stars Facebook page)