Three Clarion Golfers Earn All-Conference Honors (11/12/2018)

(By CSZ Sports Writer Kenn Staub)  Three Bobcat golfers, Josh Craig, Jackson Fox, and Lake Staub, earned KSAC All-Conference recognition for the 2018 season. Craig was a first team selection, while Fox and Staub were named to the second team.

Craig, a junior, posted a 43.44 scoring average for the season. He posted seven top ten finishes, including a win at the season opening megamatch at Foxburg Country Club (August 22) and seconds at Cross Creek Resort (August 28), Wanango Country Club (Sept. 11), and Lake Arthur Golf Course (Sept. 20). Craig also had a third at the first Clarion Oaks Golf Club megamatch (August 23). This is Craig’s third time being named all-conference, as he garnered third team status his freshman season and second team honors last season.

Joining Craig on the first team were Clarion-Limestone’s (C-L) Ian Callen, Hayden Callen, and Kaden Park, as well as Moniteau’s Ethan McDeavitt and Nate Tack. Hayden Siegel of C-L was the conference MVP.

Fox had a scoring average of 45.78 in 2018. The sophomore was in the top ten seven times, claiming a tie for first at Clarion Oaks in August. He tied for third at Wanango and tied for fourth at both Hunters Station (August 30) and the second Foxburg event (Sept. 18). This was his first all-conference recognition.

Staub was right behind Fox with a 46.00 average. Like Craig and Fox, Staub also had seven top tens. He tied for fourth three times, including at both Clarion Oaks matches (August 23 and Sept. 4) and in the season ender at Lake Arthur. Staub also tied for fifth at Hi-Level (Sept. 13). This is the Bobcat junior’s first time being named all-conference.

Clarion coach Jay Kerle said, “Congratulations Josh, Jackson, and Lake for a great golf season. Josh had another solid year, earning first team honors. Lake and Jackson put a lot of time in at the course over the summer and had great years, earning second team honors. I am very proud of them. Their hard work pushed us to a second place finish in the KSAC. All three also qualified for Districts. I am very grateful to have players that show dedication and work hard to improve. I am looking forward to next season.”