Bobcat Golfers Win KSAC Boys Title, Medalist Lake Staub Leads Team To Win In Final Mega Match (09/20/19)

(Photo by Justine Fox) 2019 KSAC Boys Golf Champions – Clarion Area: (Left to Right) Assistant Coach Jackie Kerle, Mckayla Kerle, Josh Craig, Kyle Porciello, Mitch Gieger, Lake Staub, Jackson Fox and Head coach Jay Kerle.

The Clarion Bobcat Boys Golf Team clinched the 2019 Keystone Shortway Athletic Conference (KSAC) Title, in the last Mega Match of the season, with a win at Lake Aurthur Golf Club on Wednesday, September 19th.

Lake Staub took home medalist honors shooting a 41, one stroke ahead of Bobcat teammate Jackson Fox, who came in with a 42. Kyle Porciello tied for Clarion-Limestone’s Hayden Siegel.

McKayla Kerle had a 49, while Mitch Geiger and Josh Craig both carded 52’s for the Cats.

As a team, the Bobcats shot a 227, thirteen strokes ahead of second place Moniteau, who came in with a 240. Rounding out the Top Five were Clarion-Limestone (249), Keystone (270) and Cranberry (312). Those same teams finished in the same order in the Top Five of the season standings.

Clarion held six of the top twelve spots, for the season. Craig finished second, to Clarion-Limestone’s Seigel. Fox was sixth, Staub was eighth, Porciello was eleventh and Kerle was twelfth.

Assistant Coach Jackie Kerle had this to say, “We had a very dedicated and hard working group of golfers this year. Their time and hard work over the summer months really paid off for them this season.

“We are very proud of the team winning the KSAC and are excited to enter a 4 person team into Districts on Monday.

“We are wishing Josh, Mitch, Lake and Jackson good luck and nice weather for districts at Punxsutawney country club on Monday (September 23rd).

“And good luck to McKayla, who will be competing in the girls districts the following Monday (September 30th) at Pinecrest County Club.

(Thanks to Coach Jackie Kerle for providing much of the information for this article and to Justine Fox for the photo. Super Job, Bobcat Golfers!!!! All the best at Districts, to Josh, Mitch, Lake, Jackson and McKayla!!!!)