Number of Bobcat Gridders Named To 2019 All-District Nine Team, Austin Newcomb Offensive MVP (11/29/19) has announced The Eric Shick Agency Football Awards and All-District Nine Team and the Clarion Area Bobcats are well represented.

Austin Newcomb has been named the Offensive Player of the Year. Newcomb had 119 carries (10.7 yards per carry) for 1,276 yards. He had twenty-one touchdowns. He played in only nine games and eclipsed the 100 yard mark in seven of those contests. Austin was named to the First Team as a running back and to the Second Team as a defensive back.

Ethan Burford and Ben Smith joined Austin on the First Team Offense. Ethan was named at wide receiver and Ben was named on the offensive line.

The Bobcats had two players named to the Second Team Offense. Cal German was named at quarterback and Mitch Knepp was named on the offensive line.

Ridgway offensive lineman/linebacker Robert Briggs was named the Jim Kelly Award winner as the District 9 MVP and Keystone’s Ryan Smith was named Coach of the Year.

An article with the complete list of the All-Stars and top award winners can be found at and

(Congratulations Austin, Ethan, Ben, Cal, Mitch and the rest of this years selectees!!!!)