Dawson Smail Named’s 2021 District 9 Baseball Rookie Of The Year

(Photo by Nate Girvan) Dawson Smail crossing the plate in a game against Keystone. announced their Inaugural District 9 Baseball Team and Top Award winners on Thursday, June 25th, with Clarion Area Bobcat Dawson Smail coming away with the Rookie of the Year Award.

Dawson had a great freshman campaign. He hit .400, with thirteen doubles and two triples. Dawson drove in nineteen runs and stole fourteen bases. His OPS (on base percentage – plus – slugging percentage) was 1.168.

Joining Dawson as Top Award recipients were: Johnsonburg’s Camron Mariniak – Player of the Year, Kane’s Carson Whiteman – Pitcher of the Year and Johnsonburg’s Mike Porter – Manager of the Year.

In addition to the major award winners, an All-District 9 team was named as well. The team consists of a catcher, a first baseman, a second baseman, a shortstop, a third baseman, three outfielders, two “utility” spots, and two pitchers.

Several KSAC players were named to the 2021 All-District 9 Baseball Team. Redbank Valley’s Kobe Bonanno and Clarion-Limestone’s Bryson Huwar were both named as Utility Players and A-C Valley’s Brock Weigle was named as a First Baseman.

Others selected include: Marciniak in the Outfield; Whiteman as a Pitcher, Brookville’s Jace Miner in the Outfield; DuBois Central Catholic’s Carter Hickman at Second Base; Otto-Eldred’s Cole Sebastian and Jake Merry at Shortstop and in the Outfield respectively; Johnsonburg’s Gabe Watts as a Pitcher and Ethan Wells at Catcher; and St. Marys Garret Bauer at Third Base.

(Congratulations to Dawson and all of this season’s selectees!!!!)

Click on the link below to go to the article from, which includes stats on all the players: