Jordan Best Is Clarion Softball’s 2022 Allen Peterson Academic Excellence Award Recipient

(Above image by Melanie Best – Jordan with congratulatory letter on winning the Allen Peterson Award)

(By Clarion Area Softball Coach Dan Shofestall)

Jordan Best was recently awarded the 2022 Allen Peterson Academic Excellence Award. The award is given annually to a Senior on the Clarion Softball Team if all criteria’s of the award are met. A $500 check from the Peterson Family was  awarded to Jordan, which is to be used for expenses incurred in a post secondary educational setting. Jordan is the 11th recipient of this prestigious award.

(Image by Theresa Forrest: Jordan rounding the bases)

I want to congratulate Jordan on winning this worthy award. We want and expect all of our team members to be working hard not only on the field of play but also in the classroom as well. We feel that every player on our team contributes to the performance of the team by their hard work and dedication in the classroom. Excellence in academics reflects positively on our program and in fact on everyone in our school…and by winning this award we feel Jordan is a great representative of that and what the award was designed and stands for.

Jordan was always a positive force on our team as well as the classroom. I’m sure she will continue that presence in her academic and softball career at Gannon University and we wish her well as she moves on.

(Jordan signed National Letter of Intent with Gannon University)

I want to also thank Allen Peterson and his family once more for his kindness and donation in funding this generous award. Allen was one of the areas early pioneers (among many others) who helped get girls Little League established in the area. He was a former Clarion Bobcat Softball Coach who has continually given a  helping hand to  Clarion Softball over the years.  His time, sweat, contributions and dedication to softball have been many and I can’t thank him enough for his sponsorship of The Allen Peterson Academic Award.

(Jordan shared this about winning the award: It is such an honor to receive this scholarship. Softball has been one of my biggest passions since I was 5 years old and to be rewarded for doing something that I love is truly amazing. I would like to thank Allan Peterson and his family. The kindness of people like Allan towards students in the community needs to recognized and is greatly appreciated.)

Below are the eleven Allen Peterson Award winners. Jordan’s name will go on the school plaque in the trophy case along with the 10 previous winners (including her sister Carly). Congratulations Once again Jordan.

The Allen Peterson Academic Excellence Award Winners

2012 Courtney Donaldson

2013 Matti Thornton

2014 Olivia Bartley

2015 Stephanie Kahle

2016 Johnna Rapp

2017 Cora Zerfoss

2018 MaKenzie Ditullio

2019 Carly Best

2020 Tori Vega

2021 Brenna Campbell

2022 Jordan Best

(Congratulations on receiving this fine award, Jordan!!!!)