Track: Bobcats, Lady Cats Fall To Brookville, Split With A-C Valley (03/30/18)

The Clarion Area Track Team was in action twice this week. On Monday (March 26th) they traveled to Brookville. The Raider boys downed the Bobcats 105-44, while the Brookville girls won 83-56. On Wednesday (March 28th), the Clarion boys downed homestanding A-C Valley 99-49, while the Lady Cats fell 85-55.

Clarion at Brookville

Clarion had three double-winners against Brookville, Austin Hummell for the boys and Laken Lewis and Lexie Lauer for the girls. Austin Hummell won the 800 (2:09.17) and ran a leg on the victorious 3200 relay team (9:17.65) joining Daniel Ketner, Nathaniel Lerch and Noah Schill. Lewis finished first in the long jump (16-1) and pole vault (9-6). Lauer’s victories came in the triple jump (32-4) and  the high jump (5-0).

Other winners for the Cats included Don Cunningham in the boys 400 and for the girls, Kyara Girvan (1:10.66) in the 400, Phylicia Hockman (2:55.77)in the 800 and Gabriella Fleming in the discus (56.9).

Clarion at A-C Valley

Brendan Zerfoss led the Clarion boys, winning four events, the 100 (11.4), 200 (24.0) and 400 (51.6) and was a member of the victorious 400 relay (48.0) along with  Marshall Powers, Don Cunningham and Gavin Brinkley. Nathaniel Lerch was a triple winner, taking the 1600 (5:00.6) and 3200 (11:37.0) and joining Austin Hummell, Daniel Ketner and Noah Schill on the winning 3200 relay (10:18.6).

Powers won the 300 hurdles (43.9). Hummell took the 800 (2:13.2), Brinkley won the triple jump (37-0.5), Harrison Porter won the pole vault (8-0), while Ethan Burford was victorious in the long jump (17-7).

Laken Lewis, Lexie Lauer, Kyara Girvan and Phylicia Hockman were all double winners. Lewis won the long jump (15-6.5) and pole vault (9-6). Lauer won the triple jump (32-0) and high jump (5-0). Girvan won the 200 (28.7). Hockman was victorious in the 800 (2:39.1).  Girvan and Hockman teamed with Gabby Weaver and Ali Troese, to win the 1600 relay 4:41.2).

Clarion will host Cranberry, at Memorial Stadium, on Wednesday (April 4th).