Three Clarion Area Athletes Named To 2018 TCS/CE Track And Field All-Star Team, Brendan Zerfoss Co-MVP (07/23/18)

The Tri-County Sunday and Courier Express newspapers from DuBois announced their 2018 Track and Field All-Star Team in the Sunday, July 22nd edition of the TCS, with three Clarion Area High School athletes being named.

(Photos by Rich Rhoades/Jeffersonian Democrat) Brendan proudly displaying his 2018 PIAA 5th place medal in the 400 meter dash

Brendan Zerfoss made the Boys’ Squad in two events and was named Male Track Co-Athlete of the Year with Brookville’s Ian Thrush. Brendan placed fifth in both the 200 and 400 meters  at the PIAA State Meet, at Shippensburg University, in May. He was the District Nine Class AA Champion in both those events and finished second in the 100 meters.

Two Lady Cats were named two the Girls Squad. Laken Lewis was named in the pole vault and Lexue Lauer  in the high jump. Laken finished second in the District Nine Meet and ninth at States. Lauer was fourth at Districts and tied for fourteenth at States.

Clarion-Limetone’s Ryley Hummell was named in the javelin and Redbank Valley’s Samuel Hetrick was named in the high jump, for the Boy’s Squad. Both were State Meet participants, with Ryley taking eighth.

Brookville’s Bryan Dworek was named Male Field Athlete of the Year. St. Marys’ Amanda Foster was named Female Track Athlete of the Year and Johnsonburg’s Skyler Sherry was named Female Field Athlete of the Year.

(Thanks to Rich Rhoades for the photos. Congratulations Brendan, Laken, Lexie and all the others on this year’s Squad!!!!)